Loading...
Irrigation for parks and gardens in the City of Nouméa, New Caledonia 2017-09-18T18:20:31+00:00

Project Description

New Caledonia is regularly subject to droughts, and has a great interest in using every drop of water carefully. The town of Nouméa and the Agronomic Institute of New Caledonia have tested our first prototype of Aqualone in underground version to optimize water management of green spaces. This article presents the installation that allowed an average saving of 72% water very simply over a period of 4 months!

OPTIMIZE IRRIGATION AND REDUCE WATER BILLING

As in many cities, the watering of green spaces is controlled by electronic programmers. Although the duration of watering is regularly reprogrammed to adapt to seasonal variations, these programmers cannot adapt to the day’s weather conditions, unlike Aqualone.

The Aqualone installation therefore aims to simplify the management of watering and to reduce water consumption . By bringing water when the plants really need it, the town council hopes to be able to reduce the taxpayers’ bill, while maintaining a quality grass cover.

AQUALONE WELL-HIDDEN !

To compare Aqualone’s performance with the programmer system, three control sites were tested between April and July 2016. The green spaces of the Marine Anchor (still in operation today), Magenta and Anse Vata have been equipped with our first prototype of Aqualone in its buried version.

A buried version under development

The prototype presented in this article has since been greatly improved. The new versions also blend in with the decor and become almost invisible. It is also possible to walk on it without damaging the device.

72% AVERAGE WATER SAVINGS

The test, piloted by the researchers of the Agronomic Institute of New Caledonia, lasted 4 months. The results show an average saving of 72% for the three sites, with an equivalent quality of grass cover. Soil moisture measurements were also made throughout the test. They demonstrate again that Aqualone maintains plants in the hydric comfort zone.

These results exceed all expectations and promise significant savings over time! Not to mention that the biggest savings would be made during rainy periods, when Aqualone makes the best use of rainwater.

This achievement demonstrates how Aqualone can easily save water, at a lower cost to communities. It is now up to all of us to make these results known to as many people as possible!

To go further, find out more about other Aqualone 1000 and Aqualone PLUS setups in the Case-studies. Discover our User Guides, as well as our Online Shop.

Project Details

Categories:

Loading...
Les espaces verts de la ville de Nouméa, Nouvelle-Calédonie 2017-09-18T18:20:31+00:00

Project Description

Régulièrement soumise à des épisodes de sécheresse, la Nouvelle-Calédonie a un grand intérêt à utiliser chaque goutte d’eau précieusement. La ville de Nouméa et l’Institut Agronomique de Nouvelle-Calédonie ont testé notre premier prototype d’Aqualone en version enterrée pour optimiser la gestion de l’eau des espaces verts. Cet article présente l’installation qui a permis une économie moyenne de 72% d’eau très simplement sur une période de 4 mois !

OPTIMISER L’IRRIGATION ET RÉDUIRE LA FACTURE D’EAU

Comme dans de nombreuses villes, l’arrosage des espaces verts est contrôlé par des programmateurs électroniques. Bien que la durée des arrosages soit reprogrammée régulièrement pour s’adapter aux variations saisonnières, ces programmateurs ne peuvent pas s’adapter aux conditions météorologiques du jour, contrairement à Aqualone.

L’installation d’Aqualone a donc pour objectif de simplifier la gestion des arrosages et de diminuer la consommation en eau. En apportant l’eau lorsque les plantes en ont vraiment besoin, la mairie espère ainsi pouvoir réduire la facture des contribuables, tout en maintenant un enherbement de qualité.

AQUALONE SE FOND DANS LE PAYSAGE

Pour comparer les performances d’Aqualone avec le système de programmateur, trois sites témoins ont été testés entre Avril et Juillet 2016. Les espaces verts de l’Ancre Marine (encore en fonctionnement à ce jour), de Magenta et de l’Anse Vata ont été équipés avec notre premier prototype d’Aqualone dans sa version enterrée.

Une version enterrée en cours de développement

Le prototype présenté dans cet article a été largement amélioré depuis. Les nouvelles versions se fondent également dans le décor et deviennent quasiment invisibles. Il est également possible de marcher dessus sans risquer de dégrader le dispositif.

72% D’ÉCONOMIE D’EAU EN MOYENNE

Le test piloté par les chercheurs de l’Institut Agronomique de Nouvelle-Calédonie s’est étendu sur une période de 4 mois. Les résultats montrent une économie moyenne de 72% pour les trois sites, pour une qualité d’enherbement équivalente. Des mesures d’humidité du sol ont également été effectuées tout au long de l’essai. Elles démontrent à nouveau qu’Aqualone maintient les plantes dans la zone de confort hydrique.

Ces résultats dépassent toutes les prévisions et promettent d’importantes économies sur la durée ! Sans compter que les plus grosses économies seraient faîtes pendant les périodes pluvieuses, quand Aqualone valorise au mieux l’eau de pluie.

Cette réalisation démontre comment Aqualone peut facilement permettre d’économiser de l’eau, à moindre coût pour les collectivités. A nous tous de faire connaître ces résultats au plus grand nombre désormais !

Pour aller plus loin, découvrez d’autres installations d’Aqualone 1000 et Aqualone PLUS dans les Réalisations. Vous pouvez également découvrir l’ensemble de nos Guides, ainsi que notre Boutique en ligne.

Project Details

Categories: