Loading...
A thriving orchard at a homestead in the Loyalty Islands 2017-09-18T16:26:40+00:00

Project Description

The island of Maré is a small gem in the middle of the Pacific on which many avocados, letchis and various citrus fruits are grown. Water being a scarce resource, optimizing its use for irrigation is an important challenge. The plot on which Aqualone has been installed is called a case orchard, which is a form of agroforestry with fruit trees of several species, having different ages and which are not planted in rows. This document presents the installation carried out.

IRRIGATION WITH AN ARROW HOSE

Irrigation water comes under pressure from the drinking water supply system. Prior to the installation of Aqualone, the network was divided into two main branches on which valves were installed every 30m. The 20m garden hose was moved from tap to tap to water the entire plot. This meant one full day of work per week, just for irrigation.

The purpose of the Aqualone installation is to free up time for the farmer and his family, while bringing water when the plant really needs it. The farmer hopes in this way to ensure the results of his next harvests and possibly increase the quantities produced.

A SINGLE AQUALONE FOR ALL TREES

To compare Aqualone with the hose irrigation system, a specific network was installed on 50 of the 200 trees in the plot. A “T” and two volumeters have been installed to compare the consumption of the two solutions.

Only one Aqualone PLUS was then installed for all the trees. For more details on installing Aqualone PLUS, read our guide Setting up Aqualone PLUS.

How do I know whether to use Aqualone 1000 or Aqualone PLUS?

If the delivery rate exceeds 1000L/h, Aqualone PLUS must be installed. The delivery rate is the sum of the flow rates of all drippers in the plot. Here, the 50 trees will be irrigated with drippers with adjustable flow rates ranging from 0 to 40L/h. If the 50 trees need to have their dripper open at a maximum of 40 L/h, the delivery rate will be 50 x 40L/h = 2000L/h. The Aqualone PLUS version was installed with a 1″ hydraulic valve.

Since the trees all have different needs (several species and planting dates), we have favoured the installation of adjustable flow rate drippers at the foot of each tree. The dose can be adjusted for each plant, for the same amount of irrigation. Thus, Aqualone can easily irrigate plants with very different needs.

SETTING UP THE IRRIGATION NETWORK AND DRIPPERS

After installing Aqualone Plus, a 12mm inner diameter polyethylene pipe was deployed and snakes to go to the foot of each tree. This pipe will then be buried to facilitate the cleaning operations of the plot.

The drippers are then spiked on this pipe and placed at the foot of each tree. The drippers have a small 6mm tube that allows them to be moved easily without moving the 12mm inner diameter tube. The drippers are then adjusted according to the needs of each plant. A flow rate of 10L/h was initially defined.

The first few days are important for fine-tuning the flow rate of the drippers. It is a question of bringing water as close as possible to the needs of the plant. For more information on setting Aqualone, read our guide Adjusting Aqualone PLUS.

The irrigation of the orchard is now autonomous, and all this very simply, without electricity!

To go further, find out more about other Aqualone 1000 and Aqualone PLUS facilities in the Case-studies. You can also discover all of our User Guides, as well as our Online shop.

Project Details

Categories:

Loading...
Un beau verger de case à Maré, Iles Loyauté 2017-08-01T07:26:24+00:00

Project Description

L’île de Maré est un petit joyau au milieu du Pacifique sur lequel on cultive de nombreux avocats, letchis et divers agrumes. L’eau étant une ressource rare, l’optimisation de son utilisation pour l’irrigation représente un enjeu important. La parcelle sur laquelle a été installé Aqualone est appelée un verger de case, qui est une forme d’agroforesterie avec des arbres fruitiers de plusieurs espèces, ayant des âges différents et qui ne sont pas plantés en rang. Ce document présente l’installation réalisée.

IRRIGATION AU TUYAU D’ARROSAGE

L’eau d’irrigation arrive sous pression depuis le réseau d’adduction d’eau potable. Avant l’installation d’Aqualone, le réseau était divisé en deux branches principales sur lesquelles étaient disposés des robinets tous les 30m. Le tuyau d’arrosage de 20m était déplacé de robinet en robinet pour pouvoir arroser l’ensemble de la parcelle. Cela représentait une journée entière de travail par semaine, rien que pour l’irrigation.

L’installation d’Aqualone a pour objectif de libérer du temps pour l’exploitant et sa famille, tout en apportant l’eau lorsque la plante en a vraiment besoin. L’exploitant espère ainsi assurer le résultat de ses prochaines récoltes et éventuellement augmenter les quantités produites.

UN SEUL AQUALONE POUR TOUS LES ARBRES

Pour comparer Aqualone avec le système d’arrosage au tuyau, un réseau spécifique a été mis en place sur 50 des 200 arbres de la parcelle. Un T ainsi que deux compteurs ont été installés pour pouvoir comparer les consommations des deux solutions.

Un seul Aqualone PLUS a ensuite été installé pour l’ensemble des arbres. Pour plus de détail sur l’installation d’Aqualone PLUS, lire notre guide Installer Aqualone PLUS.

Comment savoir s’il faut mettre Aqualone 1000 ou Aqualone PLUS ?

Lorsque le débit de distribution est supérieur à 1000L/h, il faut installer Aqualone PLUS. Le débit de distribution correspond à la somme des débits de tous les goutteurs de la parcelle. Ici, les 50 arbres seront irrigués avec des goutteurs à débit réglable allant de 0 à 40L/h. Si les 50 arbres ont besoin d’avoir leur goutteur ouvert au maximum à 40 L/h, le débit de distribution sera de 50 x 40L/h = 2000L/h. C’est donc la version d’Aqualone PLUS qui a été installée, avec une vanne à commande hydraulique de 1″.

Puisque les arbres ont tous des besoins différents (plusieurs espèces et plusieurs dates de plantation), nous avons privilégié l’installation de goutteurs à débit réglable au pied de chaque arbre. La dose apportée peut ainsi être ajustée pour chaque plante, pour une même d’irrigation. Aqualone peut ainsi irriguer très facilement des plantes dont les besoins sont très différents.

INSTALLATION DU RÉSEAU D’IRRIGATION ET DES GOUTTEURS

Après avoir installé Aqualone Plus, c’est un tuyau de polyéthylène de diamètre intérieur de 12mm qui a été déployé et qui serpente pour aller au pied de chaque arbre. Ce tuyau sera ensuite enterré pour faciliter les opérations de nettoyage de la parcelle.

Les goutteurs sont ensuite piqués sur ce tuyau et sont placés au pied de chaque arbre. Les goutteurs disposent ici d’un petit tuyau de 6mm qui permet de les déplacer facilement sans déplacer le tuyau de diamètre intérieur 12mm. Les goutteurs sont ensuite réglés en fonction du besoin de chaque plante. Un débit de 10L/h a été défini dans un premier temps.

Les premiers jours sont importants pour un réglage fin du débit des goutteurs. Il s’agit d’apporter l’eau au plus près des besoins de la plante. Pour plus d’informations sur le réglage d’Aqualone, lire notre guide Régler Aqualone PLUS.

L’irrigation du verger de case est désormais autonome, et tout ça très simplement, sans électricité !

Pour aller plus loin, découvrez d’autres installations d’Aqualone 1000 et Aqualone PLUS dans les Réalisations. Vous pouvez également découvrir l’ensemble de nos Guides, ainsi que notre Boutique en ligne.

Project Details

Categories: